About Us

Home Page
2016 Local Election Page
2016 Candidate's Page
APWU Real Time News
About Us
Associate Offices
Local Memorandums
COPA Photos
Contact Us
The PressOn
Upcoming Events
President's Page
Vice President
Secretary Treasurer
Executive Board
Clerk Craft
Maintenance Craft
Motor Vehicle Craft
Support Services
Veteran's Corner
Stewards Page
Good and Welfare
Industrial Relations
Local Constitution
Convention Photos
Important Numbers
Labor Day Parade
Retiree's Page
Important Documents
Veterans Advisory Panel
Executive Board
Family Day 2008
Family Day 2010
Family Day 2011
Family Day 2012
Family Day 2014
Family Day 2015
Family Day 2016
MLK March 2012
Retiree's Luncheon 2011
Retiree's Luncheon 2013
Retiree's Luncheon 2014
Retiree's Luncheon 2015
Retiree's Luncheon 2016
Installation 2013
National Day of Action

A quick look at the Gateway District Area Local

The American Postal Workers Union AFL-CIO was formed after the postal strike of 1970 and the subsequent establishment of the United States Postal Service.

In 1972 four seperate unions merged together to form St Louis Local 8 of the APWU.  We have since grown by merging with other locals and have become the St Louis Gateway District Area Local.  We have been lead by seven presidents; 

Zenison Kirksey 1972 - 1975
 Michael Amman 1975 - 1979
  Teddie Days 1979 - 1985
 Melvin Sanders 1985 - 2001
 Roosevelt Stewart 2001 - 2008
 Anthony "Tony" Harris 2008 - 2010
Frederick "Fred" Wolfmeyer 2010 -

To each we say thank you for helping to make us one of the larger locals in the APWU and an organization that stands for progress, solidarity, and unionism.

In addition to the St Louis Processing and Distribution Center, it's stations and branches, the Priority Annex, and the IT-ASC, we proudly represent Associate Offices in the 630-633 zip codes.

Website Builder